Picture
I like to make this cake once or twice during the Christmas season – a nice, dark cake with a lovely hint of ginger and spice.  I brought this into my workplace today and served with The Prairie Woman’s Caramel Sauce - it went quickly!

2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground allspice
1 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup molasses
3 eggs
1 cup hot water
1 and 1/2 tsp soda
 
Measure first 8 ingredients into bowl.  Measure hot water into large cup, add baking soda to hot water while holding it over the bowl as it foams up (however, don’t worry if it doesn’t foam up, just pour in).  Mix well. Pour into your choice of cake pan (9x13, or I usually use a standard bundt pan, greased and floured). Bake at 350˚ for approximately 35 minutes – however, keep an eye on it as baking time varies.  You’ll know that it’s done when a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean, and the edges start pulling away from the edge of the pan.
 
Serve warm with whipped cream, caramel sauce, or a lemon sauce.

I’ve been making this cake for so many years I can’t remember where the recipe came from – if you recognize it, let me know so I can give credit where credit is due!  Thanks ☺ 
- Theresa



Susanne
11/22/2011 01:13:47 pm

Am bummed I missed out on trying the cake today! Thanks for the heads up though. :-)

Reply
11/22/2011 01:17:07 pm

Some of the best cake i've had in a long time!!!!! Keep up the good work! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.